Cash Assistance Program for Immigrants

Financial assistance for aged, blind, and disabled non-citizens

Placeholder tab content 2

Placeholder tab content 3

Placeholder tab content 4

What is the Cash Assistance Program for Immigrants (CAPI)?

CAPI provides benefits for legal non-citizens in financial need who are ineligible for federal Supplemental Security Income (SSI) due to their immigrant status. Blind or disabled non-citizens of any age, or seniors aged 65 and older may be eligible to receive CAPI.

Alameda County Social Services Agency is responsible for providing potentially eligible individuals with CAPI applications, assisting applicants with completing the application, conducting the required face-to-face interview, processing other public benefit program applications (General Assistance, Medi-Cal, CalFresh, CalWORKs) and forwarding CAPI applications received to San Mateo County. Alameda County’s CAPI program is administered by San Mateo County who processes the CAPI applications and sends assistance payments directly to Alameda County residents.